History and heritage
Malansac derives from the Latin mediolanum otherwise known as “village of the plain“. From the 16th to the 20th century, Malansac forged its reputation on the exploitation of the shale present on the site of the slate quarries, owned by the Lords of Rochefort.
Malansac was erected as a commune in 1790, and became part of the canton of Rochefort in 1801. From the eighteenth century until the early twentieth century, Malansac is famous for its pottery, hence the place of the Pots Kilns.
The church of Notre-Dame (1694 and 1858), founded by the Lords of Rochefort, bears its date of construction engraved above the oculus of the north wall. It consists of a nave with aisles, a transept and a polygonal choir.
In the middle of nature
In the cranes
If you like hiking, the Ardoisières circuit (20 km) in Malansac, offers superb panoramas on the grées (schist hills) that dominate the Arz valley, a Natura 2000 protected area (by mountain bike or on foot).
Malansac is also located on the path of St Jacques de Compostelle.
The Park of Prehistory
2km from the medieval village of Rochefort-en-Terre, in Malansac, the Prehistory Park has 30 life-size scenes, in an exceptional setting, wild and wooded, with lakes and cliffs.
A park to go back in time! Discover the dinosaurs and the first men. A true paradise for children!
Malansac City Hall
Check out the opening hours
4 rue du Puits de Bas 56 220 Malansac
The other municipalities of